stockport photographic society

Taking the Camera out of Automatic

04 Apr 2017

Taking the Camera out of Automatic by Terry Hewitt

Saturday 29th April, 2pm–4pm, at the Stockport War Memorial Art Gallery
Admission Free

terry1Ever wondered what all those buttons on your camera do? Ever wondered how you can take your smartphone out of automatic to get better photographs?

terry2In this interactive talk and demonstration using smartphone and cameras connected directly to a big screen, Terry will demonstrate all the key settings on a compact or smartphone camera. In other words: what effect do all the adjustments you can make on your camera have? He will show what they do, what are the side effects, why you need this feature and most importantly, when to use it. The talk finishes with the 40 things to do before you press the shutter!

This event is part of Stockport Photographic Society's Spring into Photography series of events around its 125th Annual Exhibition at Stockport War Memorial Art Gallery, Saturday 15th April 2017 – Tuesday 30th May 2017. Admission is free to exhibition & all events.

Join Us

Give us a try! Come along to a meeting and see what we do before joining. See our programme, and see more about us and how to find us.
Contact us


Tue Mar 27 @19:30 - 22:00
In Search of the Northern Lights - Talk by Dave Hastings
Tue Apr 03 @19:30 - 22:00
Compex 1 Judged by Alfred Brown
Mon Apr 09 @19:30 - 22:00
Cheadle Alliance Round 4 at Bramhall
Tue Apr 10 @19:30 - 22:00
My favourite photo topic - Short talks by members
Sat Apr 14
Annual Exhibition
Tue Apr 17 @19:00 - 22:00
External photoshoot
Sat Apr 21 @14:00 - 16:00
Trick Photography with Terry Hewitt
Tue Apr 24 @19:30 - 22:00

Tea Duties

Tue Mar 27 @19:30 - 22:00
Tue Apr 03 @19:30 - 22:00
Terry Hewitt
Tue Apr 10 @19:30 - 22:00
Tue Apr 17 @19:30 - 22:00
Tue Apr 24 @19:30 - 22:00